1. Babel: 1.00
  2. Whispers in the Dark: 0.75
  3. I Will Wait: 1.00
  4. Holland Road: 0.75
  5. Ghosts That We Knew: 1.00
  6. Lover of the Light: 0.75
  7. Lovers’ Eyes: 0.75
  8. Reminder: 0.25
  9. Hopeless Wanderer: 0.25
  10. Broken Crown: 0.00
  11. Below My Feet: 0.00
  12. Not With Haste: 0.50
  13. For Those Below: 0.75
  14. The Boxer: 1.00
  15. Where Are You Now?: 0.75

Score: 63%

Conclusion

I have to admit that it’s my first time hearing Mumford & Sons’ music. It’s just that they’re creating so much buzz that I just have to listen for myself. I heard I Will Wait on the radio and shivers just shoot up my spine. The sweetness and the yearning, you could feel it all in under 5 minutes. It’s a sweeping love song that will bring your thoughts to that one person, if you still haven’t gotten him/her. That’s the good thing about their music. It takes you somewhere — a place in your heart, a memory, a scene from a movie, your future. There’s a sense of epicness in their banjo-filled repertoire. Who knows the banjo can be quite stirring? I didn’t, until now. The first half of the album is really good. Aside from I Will Wait, the title track Babel is the next best thing and I can’t help but bang my head to every beat of that song. For me, the latter half is where the problem starts. There’s just not enough variety and every song seems to sound the same as I go through the album. The poetry is still there but there’s a certain heaviness & dreariness that’s almost uncomfortable. The bonus tracks are better, esp. the remake of The Boxer. I think I have to listen to their first album to compare, but all in all, I like this band. They offer something different and some of their songs are award-worthy. So I am only about 50% sold now.

